WI no HMS Hood

Ramp-Rat

Monthly Donor
What if no Hood, WI in 1919 the British had decieded not to build HMS Hood, experience from WWI seemed to show that BCs werent all that they were meant to be. So rather than rush ahead and finish her as in OTL, they just sit back have a cup of tea, and think things through.

Then in 1922, the Washington Treaty comes into force.

Rather than complete Hood she is scraped as is Almirant Cochrane/Eagle, along with one of the other Hood class BCs on the slip-ways. The other two are however built as Aircraft Carriers a-lar USS Lexington/Saratoga. Unlike these ships the British opt, for armored decks, but no 8in guns. The ships when fiished look similar to Eagle in OTL, with long narrow islands and two funnels.
So Britain has two large ACs and an independent FAA, where next.

As this is my first attempt at this sort of thing I stand ready to be ripped to shreds by those who are better and wiser than me at this, so go for it.:D

The biggest problem I see is that, other than a few visionaries, the world's navy's lessons from WWI was that the battleships were still the kings of the sea, and these had to be dreadnaughts.

The perceptions were that Jutland and other skirmishes were won by the battleships and heavy cruisers, and that only similar ships-of-the-line were ever going to be able to stand toe-to-toe with the enemy, and that all major naval engagements were going to be fought that way forever.

Ther navies WERE quick to seize airpower's advantages for scouting. But for this sort of POD to work, you have to add something like 'lucky bomb(s) dropping from an aircraft cripples a capital ship during the war' for this to make people notice.

Interesting thought though...

It's plausible enough.

This all depends on your objectives here.

Do you want a very "historical" AH (as preferred by people like me.)