Should a muslim nation colonize America, where would they get their slaves from?

• Thread starter Deleted member 70671
  • Start date

Deleted member 70671

Hello lads, i've been lurkin' for a while, first thread here.

So, i've been thinking about this...
Should a muslim nation (an Al-Andalus nation resisting the Reconquista, some Almohad-like entity remaining powerful in northwest Africa, dunno) colonize America, where would they get their slaves from?
If i recall correctly, they have that "people of the book" stuff, so they wouldn't go on slaving christians, right?
They wouldn't be able to do with the natives because, IIRC, the portuguese tried it but the natives knew the "jungle routes" so they escaped en masse.
And... They wouldn't be able to do it with West Africa (where, IIRC, most american slaves come from) because they are muslims too, so... Where'd they go? Congo? Wouldn't that be too long of a way?

Also, i'm a newbie, so is this board just for timelines or you can discuss some other AH-related stuff, if it fits the before 1900 margin? :confused:

Personally, I think economics trumps religion. There were Christian issues with enslaving Africans (and I don't think there was a vast Muslim population enslaved that ended up in the Americas via the slave routes) that ended up being tossed out in favor of the economics of the situation.

So to answer your question, the triangular trade routes would probably still hold true with a few laws in place like "Any slave that converts to Islam cannot be enslaved" but eventually tossing that out once slaves realize there's an easy out from their situation. So yeah. Africa most likely.

Also, with their routes to/from India, you probably end up with a daisy-chain of slave routes with a considerable Hindu minority of slaves. This will make for an interesting alt-Muslim New World culture.