Nemesis: A Monster Movie Script

Hi-diddly-ho. Here's the first part of a script for what I imagine to be an American version of Godzilla - as in a story where a creature created by the atomic bomb comes to haunt America rather than Japan. I thought presenting it as a film script might be an interesting alternate way of doing things - hopefully it's relatively easy to visualise (I'm not a pro screenwriter so please do forgive errors in formatting and such!) Anyways, here's Nemesis. I'll update periodically - please do leave a comment if you can but if you don't wanna that's cool!

FADE IN, hovering just above the surface of a sparkling blue ocean. It could only be paradise. Colourful tropical fish pass by just beneath the surface. Then.

EXT. SOUTH PACIFIC OCEAN. KORTU ATOLL. HIGH NOON.

In the wake of the fish, a proa sailboat manned by six tattooed male natives passes by in the same direction. We pan up, following them, and see spread out ahead the island paradise of KORTU ATOLL. Other sailboats are heading home too, a whole fleet of them, seeming so flimsy yet piloted so confidently.

SUPERIMPOSE: KORTU ATOLL, PACIFIC OCEAN – 1 MARCH 1954

We cut to a bright red crab scuttling along the golden sand. A dainty female hand plucks it from the ground and lifts it to her face – it is LYNN, aged about nineteen and heavily pregnant. She examines the crab with a gentle curiosity before glancing up and spotting the men returning. We see from the ground as she carefully places the crab back down and it continues on its way – in the blurry background we see LYNN running for the shoreline as quickly as her pregnancy will allow.